top of page

You are Not a Number

I want to hold your hand, cry with you as the sky tears asunder Raining bullets and viruses by the thunder beat I want to tell you, you are not a number. ​ We have the same eyes, same hair and same laughter Except you’ve got battlescars in Mozambique, Afghanistan and Yemen I want to hold your hand, cry with you as the sky tears asunder ​ You deserve good food, a full breakfast, lunch and dinner But instead you face droughts, must eat men’s leftovers I want to tell you, you are not a number. ​ You have world-class ideas and visionary desires Why can’t the ventilators and the oxygen tank go on working? I want to hold your hand, cry with you as the sky tears asunder ​ You tried to help your family escape the land of horrors By braving the winds and the oceans before me, but you were captured. I want to tell you, you are not a number. ​ It’s so difficult, everyday you face old fears new fears It’s so difficult, but oh do hold on to your innocence and goodness I want to hold your hand, cry with you as the sky tears asunder I want to tell you, you are not, never, a number.

bottom of page